Question for you mille lacs champs…

• micah-witham
    Richfield

Fished Mille Lacs a bit last weekend and didn’t do all that great. managed a couple of walleyes and some smallies but certainly not the slug fest I’m hearing about for me. My question is this…everyone talks about fishing sand to gravel transitions and that being a place people are finding fish right now, without a camera to actually see the bottom, how exactly do you know when you’ve found one of these spots? Is it what you’re feeling with your rigging weight? Is it a difference you’re seeing on your graph (in which case maybe a “reading your graph” kind of seminar or video series would be a good thing for the site.) Or is it just local knowledge that people have picked up over the years?
    Any thoughts from those seasoned Mille Lacs veterans?
    thanks

Todders

For my boat it is mostly on the graph. I am no expert but the composition of the bottom being harder or softer gives a stronger or weaker return. Not always sure what I am looking at but when the color of the bottom changes when your speed was consistent, transition! I am sure more experienced members will chime in. Good luck!

fieds
    ottertail county

Finding these transition areas without long hours of trolling can have more to do with years of experience. When you find them your rigging setup lets you know. Braids and a quality rod are a riggers best friend, although it can be tough to distinguish sand/gravel from sand/clam beds which can be equally awesome. A good depth finder setup properly will also show the line between soft/hard bottom which is not so obvious when dealing with hard sand and hard gravel.
    When i fish a new area and have some info that’s not to specific as to location, i’ll start shallower than the target depth and rig towards deeper water and let my rigging setup tell me where the transition line is and go from there. Unlike underwater islands these areas usually are not on a map.