Sturgeon Galore

• moxie
    Sioux City,IA

It seems at every outing here we always catch a sturgeon. Is this the case with some of you fishing the Missouri River and nearing rivers?

BBKK
    IA

Just now saw this. How many did you get this year?

I can honestly say I have never caught nor seen a sturgeon here on the Miss. Heard the little shovelnose ones are good eating if smoked. I’d like to try it some day but there is no way I could bring myself to keeping one when I’ve been fishing for 15+ years and never saw one.

What were you catching them on? Crawlers?

If you have never seen it, this is a really cool video on sturgeon https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmXihGfQXPg

moxie
    Sioux City,IA

They love night crawlers and so does the gars..the sad thing is I find gars all over the banks here in Sioux City, they’re being treated like carp

BBKK
    IA

Unlike carp, gar really do hurt the fishery quite a bit. They eat every fish in sight. I dont think they should be thrown on the bank but I think the dnr should do something to manage them a little better. Ive seen them just ravage a school of small crappie.

moxie
    Sioux City,IA

I didn’t know that about gars?

BBKK
    IA

They are a native fish and have their place in the ecosystem. Around here they are way over populated. Gars are just eating machines, anything that moves they will eat. Worms, craws, small fish, shiners, frogs, big bugs, etc. When the water gets low in the summer they go into the backwaters and just eat every fish in sight, by that time the bluegill, crappie, bass, walleye, pretty much all fish have spawned and their fry is an easy target for hungry gar. Of course that is normal for an ecosystem, but when you have tons of gar it is a little overpowering.

Main cause is no commercial or angling market for them, gar are never targeted by commercial fishermen and are usually avoided since their noses will tear up a net with ease.. and hardly anybody angling ever keeps them.