flathead rookie

• Jesse Thomas

First of all, thank you in advance to anyone will to help me out here.
    As of right now I have caught 1 flathead (about a five pounder) I’m on a mission to get into some bigger fish, 20+lbers. I’ve Been reading a lot and I believe I have a pretty good idea of equipment, tackle, tactics, and general areas to be fishing. Right now, it sounds like current breaks/seams, cut banks, log jams are a pretty good bet. That being said i spent last weekend on the ol’ croix without much to show and that’s the river I’m most familiar with but I would rather be somewhere less familiar with better odds of bigger fish. From what I gather that would be the MN.

If someone could confirm that I’m headed in the right direction that would be very appreciated. That’s all I really need, I think. However, as previously stated I am a rookie at this and any tips or tricks would be great!

Attachments:
    1. Resized_20190609_004701.jpg

MnPat1

Find an obstruction on the current break and fish right behind it. When the rivers are high like now creek mouths can be one of the few places to find a fishable current break.
    Use live bullheads and circle hooks. Release the fish after you catch one.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

What are you using for bait?

Here’s a thought for you.
    Ditch the live bait.
    Catch sheephead.
    Use head, use body. Cut baits 4-6″ in size.
    I use 8/0 circle.
    Fish during the day.
    Stay in one spot no more than 20 minutes.
    You’ll catch big Flathead.

That’s been my program the past week. Working well.
    Picture is a 13.5#. the sheephead is 5″ long nose to cut.
    That’s about the smallest fish you’ll catch on that bait.

Attachments:
    1. CameraZOOM-20190609162948190-1.jpg

2. CameraZOOM-20190610184147910.jpg

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

What are you using for bait?

Here’s a thought for you.
    Ditch the live bait.
    Catch sheephead.
    Use head, use body. Cut baits 4-6″ in size.