Chicken Chili

• john23
    St. Paul, MN

I’ve been making chili for the last several years and really got into it over the winter. I started making chicken chili and found out I like it just as much as beef chili, especially when I need a little variety. I love putting this stuff in a thermos and eating on the water.

This is a very forgiving recipe that can easily be adjusted to suit your tastes. I like to double this recipe and freeze single portions in foodsaver bags. This is a single large batch that will serve at least 6.

~3# chicken (breasts are easiest, but you could certainly use other pieces)

16 oz. dry beans (black or pinto work well – canned beans work fine, too)

3-4 jalapeno or other hot peppers (adjust to taste). Two small cans of nacho jalapenos (not drained) will work, too.

2 poblano peppers (or one green pepper if you really hate spice)

2 medium yellow onions

1 can of green giant extra sweet corn, drained

4 cups of chicken broth (1 box or two 16oz. cans)

Olive Oil

About 3 tablespoons of cumin, or a packet of fajita seasoning

2 packets of Goya Sazon spice mix (available in mexican food section)*

*Note that you can adjust or substitute spices according to taste and availability … think Mexican and chili spices. Chili powder, Tabasco, etc. work great. Cumin, whether in a Mexican seasoning mix or alone, is very important.

Put the raw beans (after rinsing) in a large pot with about 8 cups of water. If you’re using canned beans, you can skip this step. Cover the pot and bring the water to a boil. Continue boiling for about 5 minutes. Turn the burner off and let the beans sit in the hot water for 60-90 minutes.

Cube the chicken into 1″ cubes or smaller. Cook them up in a large frying pan or stock pot with a couple tablespoons of olive oil. Mix one of the Sazon packets in with the chicken before they’re done cooking. Set the chicken aside.