Dumb Question About Livewells

• Adam1
    Superior/Balsam Lake, WI

My livewll pump decided to retire itself. What kind of pump is used for these. Do I need a bilge pump or are there pumps specifically for livewells? Sorry to ask dumb questions. I’m still learning.

wade_kuehl
    Northwest Iowa

Jim is correct of course, and it’s not a dumb question. You should be able to get one at any Marine shop and I think Wall Mart even carries them. If you have a lot of trouble finding one (which I don’t think you will) let me know.

derek_johnston
    On the water- Minnesota

How did it retire itself? Heres a quick diagnoses for a possible bad pump.

1. Check the fuse in the fuse panel.

2. Check the + and – leads on the pump switch to make sure the switch is closing(making the circuit) with a volt meter. Every boat owner should have a DC volt meter. You can get one at Wal-mart for under $10

3. Check the leads to the pump at the pump with a volt meter to make sure there isn’t a short between the pump and fuse box.

4. If all that checks out and you have 12 volts going to the pump, take the leads off to the pump and disassemble pump. Most pumps have three screws.

5. Remove the impeller and hook the leads back up and turn the pump on. If the shaft spins, you have a bad impeller. If you have 12 volts going to the pump and the shaft wont spin. its junk. If the impeller is bad, most boat dealers carry them. They run about $4.

Good Luck.

Dave Koonce
    Prairie du Chien Wi.

good point on the fuses !! If the pump was froze up and you tried to run it, it may be just a fuse. Let her thaw out and then try it again, after you check the fuse.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Last spring I thought I needed a new pump. Did what Derek said above…added a little WD-40 and it sounded better than the day I bought it! All done in 1/2 hour.

Good Luck!

james
    Ankeny Iowa