GPS / Fishfinder units

• jexeri

I am looking to purchase a new GPS/fishfinder for my boat, I am looking for something I can put in the council and looking to spend $400 – $700. Just checking to see if anyone has had good or bad experiences with anything in particular. I have done some research on the Lowrance LMS-480 unit…..what are the positives/negatives of a unit like this ? Thanks

mbarron
    east metro of the twin cities in Minnesota

I have a LMS 480 and love it. You also have to consider the chip you put into it. I got the one by navianics and i had very good luck and enjoyed fishing a lot more with this unit. I am still learning about it. I also got a set up so I can bring it in the house during the winter and power it with ac current so I can play around with it and learn. the ac/dc adaptor was about 20 bucks and worth it. Good Luck

sliderfishn
    Blaine, MN

Check with Wade at Jolly Ann Marine. No tax, Free shipping and he is a site sponsor. He will answer all questions.

Ron

Jack Naylor
    Apple Valley, MN

Bronzy,
    I also have the LMS-480. it works very nice and for what you get, is an excellent combo unit for the price. I also have the Navionics chip. In the winter time I remove the antenna from the boat as I don’t need it on Pool 4, I bought a DC power cord for about 30 bucks, so I can put the unit in my vehicle and use the GPS while on mapped lakes for ice fishing. that is really cool too.
    good luck..
    Jack..

nick
    Lakeville, MN