Let’s Talk Kayaks

• suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

I finally made the plunge or rather dipped my toe and got our first Kayak. I plan to have 2 but wanted to try out the entry level model first then decide if the second one should be something different. I got a 9 foot Fusion from [censored]. It looks like a happy medium between the short squatty ones and the long cigar shaped ones. I ordered a flush mount rod holder ($5) online yesterday so that it has that basic feature. Also trying to figure out what materials to buy so I can make a paddle holder. Anyways I’m just learning and wanted to bounce it off some experienced people before I get a second kayak. They will be used in river and lake. No big water. Any suggestions on style or features you’ve learned from experience? I am interested to hear anything Kayak. Thanks.

Joes
    St Paul, MN

Click Here. This event could be helpful to try a few options before you buy.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

There’s a kayak group Mike. Not sure how active it is.

I’ve often thought about renting one to paddle through the flooded woods around the Trimbel. Casting a spinner or something around the trees.

They sound like a hoot.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

I’m mostly excited about running the Namekagon in northern Wi. Parking it and wade fishing good spots. My wife wants to paddle our lake but that’s what outboard motors are for.

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

Here at work so I can’t get too wordy right now. I love fishing from my kayak.

Nine foot is short for paddleing. I 12 or 14 footer will glide and track much better. I like a 26 to 28 inch max width. Too narrow gets too tippy for fishing and too wide gets less efficient to paddle.

A system for anchoring from each end is good ,very good. Google “kayak anchor systems” and you will see your options.

Most of the time while I am fishing I just lay my paddle across my lap so it is quick and handy.