on board charger recommendations?

• jt_fish

Looking for recommendations on a 3-bank on board charger.

Any suggestions on good ones or ones to stay away from?

JT

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Anyone that’s ever use the Minnkota line will recommend them.

Link to Jollyann Marine MK-330

I’ve been running this one for 4 or 5 years now. Seldom have to add water to the battery because with the built in battery tender, it doesn’t boil the battery.

I do believe that I’m getting a longer life from my batteries because I’m using a 10 amp charger. Opinion here.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

I didn’t see your post Ralf, they might be good too.

Just wanted to add the Minnkota sports a 3 year warrenty and runs $159. no shipping or tax if you don’t live in IA.

Chris
    Rochester, MN

I’m running the mk-330 also and think it’s great… and yup, it was purchased from Jolly Ann because I didn’t have to pay tax or shipping

Love MK’s battery maintainer technology.

hookem_9
    Hastings, MN

I bought a Minnkota MK330 a few years ago, Been a solid unit. Very happy with it. Charges and maintains well.

jt_fish

Thanks Brian, what benefits are there to a 10 amp charger vs a 5 amp charger other than recovery time?

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

X2 on MinnKota. I just added another 2 bank to my boat this spring. Also purchased from Jolly Ann Marine. -Mark

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

The slower the charge the better. So a 5 amp is better for your batteries than a 10 amp. Most people looking at chargers tend to lean toward the larger amperage chargers….15 or 20 amps.

These do have a faster recovery time, but the end result is less battery life. It’s a trade off.

If your a tourney angler or someone else that needs a fast charge go bigger. The average Joe Sixpack will find the 10 amp suitable for their needs.

If that makes any sense.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster