Drop shot rod

• Dr. Pomoxis

I am pretty new to the drop shot. I’ve had some minor success, but as anything it’s all about confidence. I am using a medium light fast action 7 ft rod. Watching the most recent IDO video, I see they recommend a more flexible action, in order to not lift the weight off the bottom (which I tend to do if I’m not paying attention) when shaking the bait. What do you guys use?

fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.

I use a 7ft ML fast action baitcasting rod. I had a friend build it for me just for dropshotting. most people use a spinning rod for dropshotting. I just like the feel of a baitcaster much better and hate the line twist you get with a spinning rod. The rod I had built has a twist design. The last 4 eyes are on the underside of the rod like a spinning rod. I really like the way it works for dropshotting. A few tips for you. Use a braided line with about a 10ft Fluor leader. Use as light of a weight as you can ( I use mostly a 3/16 or 1/8 ) keep your cast rather short – you want to stay as vertical as possible. Shake the rod tip with a little slack line – this will help you move the bait without moving the sinker. Start with a 4-6” straight tail worm – they are hard to find and expensive but a Roboworm is one of the best – small flukes also work real well. The 4” one by Berkeley has been my go to this summer. PlY around with drop length. I normally fish mine around 18” but have fished it as long as 36”. Once you jet a hang of it you won’t want to fish much else. I find mine in my hand about 75% of the time in the summer months. Good luck.

Tinker
    Iron Range

What Thumper said. I have used this method for Crappies when they are suspended. I sometimes use lengths from 4′ to 5 ‘ depending on how high they are suspended. Once you have your weight length set up drop the weight on the floor of the boat and jig without lifting the weight . This will give you a good idea of the action of the bait . I love using this method.

mahtofire14