Another wild card in my scent control system?

• jeff_heeg
    Marshfield WI.

I started this back in a camp with some folks that came in to film a Muzzy Bad to The Bone Bucks Hunt with 3 of us being filmed in front of the camera. What a rush and a great week and I harvested a nice 10 pt. on film

The very first morning I was getting ready for the days hunt, like any other day prior and the other 2 Muzzy Hunt folks and our camera men were huddled around a bunch of dried oak leaves that have fallen and they collected for their trips, they had a small batch smoldering like crazy belching white smoke and they were smoking up their light garments hats, etc and some of their outer gear including back packs and all, standing in the smoke and getting all smoked up.

It actually had a nice smell to it that I have gotten fond to every fall now.

I did not hesitate jumping in and joining, I figured these folks hunt for a living and if they take this as a serious step towards harvesting an old buck then I’m in. It all has something to do with momentarily messing up a deer’s sense of smell, disabling them to detect any traces of human when they cross your scent trail in the air, also the smoke tends to stick to your vapor trail as your body perspires working in your favor, There has been some studies say that the rosin in the smoke from the Oak leaves has some micro inhibiting agents in it that kills the growth of the odor causing bacteria.

For the most part deer are used to smelling wood burners and camp fires and people burning leaves or brush from a distance and have come accustom to the smell. I really have to admit, I have seen some really cool stuff watching some mature bucks that snuck around down wind crossed your down wind draft and knowing how alert these animals can be at times yet you see a sign of curiosity and then back to their normal walk.