St.Croix Bluff park “fishing” report 7.21.03

• nick
    Lakeville, MN

Well it wasn’t what I call a good day fishing, I hit the river from bluff park tried dragging some jointed shads, 1 firetiger, 1 crawfish pattern, nothing on either one of those, switched up to a rebel crawfish, nothing… I was marking a fair amount of fish in the 10ft-12fr range I suspect most of those were striped bass. I also switched to a snagless bottom bounces with a yellow spinner dragging a nightcrawler, I got a small smbass, and a couple other hits, but nothing else. I also ran a lindy rig with about a 2.5 foot snell and a crawler and I also tried a leech, nothing on that setup. I also tried in 50ft of water both a jointed shad, and a deep running reef runner brown pattern, then moved in and fished along the the shore 20 ft to 13ft just above the launch. Nothing there either. Tried pitching a white mister twisterand bumping that back to the boat with no sucess there either.

On a good note for those striped bass fisher people out there man alive were they hitting, right outside the bluff park channel, you could see them all surfacing, and all you need to do it toss anything out there and wham you has a striped bass, ( I used a rattling rap and a rebel crawfish both worked great) I also picked up a 1# smallie doing this too. I had to bring some fish in the boat. I had to be off the water by 8:15 so I didn’t get too much time fishing, but heck is was still better than sitting home waiting to go to work.

One person I talked to at the launch said they picked up a couple northerns and a musky trolling the J-5 rapala. no ‘eyes.

Anyone got any suggestions for me on what I could’ve done different, or should’ve tried?

letsgo

Was out for four hours Monday afternoon, trolled cranks, caught three Sauger all too small. Did get a 29 inch Northern and 27 Musky. Took nothing home, but enjoyed the day.

mike t
    St Paul, MN