Crankbaits & lead core question

• HookLine&Sinker

Setting up a couple lead core rods for the first time. Looking to order some crankbaits and was wondering if there is a consensus regarding whether the shallow or deeper diving lures give a better action/produce better.

ie: shallow shad rap (2-4′ dive depth) VS. “regular” shad rap (4-9′ dive depth)

CBMN
    North Metro

HL&S

I have to agree with tornadochaser, as I use both on lead also. Don’t always know why but you gave a good example with the shad rap, another one is husky jerks. Just different actions and sometimes one works better than the other.

Bob Madison

Agreed on both. I am a novice on lead core but am learning the depth vs. # of colors with the various depths the crankbaits run.

Matthew Sandys

If you guys want to PM me, I have a great spreadsheet of lead core depths and speeds. I can not take any credit but would love to pass it along as the originator did to me.
    There are two one for 5 foot and one for 7 foot

Jim Pat

I am not an expert but one bit advice is to watch your depth finder and make sure to crank it up if you are near structure or the bottom. That will save you losing lead core and your lure.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

If you guys want to PM me, I have a great spreadsheet of lead core depths and speeds. I can not take any credit but would love to pass it along as the originator did to me.
    There are two one for 5 foot and one for 7 foot

waytogo

Thanks for passing along!

Setting up a couple lead core rods for the first time. Looking to order some crankbaits and was wondering if there is a consensus regarding whether the shallow or deeper diving lures give a better action/produce better.

ie: shallow shad rap (2-4′ dive depth) VS. “regular” shad rap (4-9′ dive depth)

You run any lure on leadcore. That’s the beauty of it.