Clay Bar for auto detailing ???

• fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.

Its my Daughters Birthday today and she is out of town. For her birthday present I am going to detail her car for her. I started the process last night by washing her car real good. The surface seemed to still have something on it. Either a sap or a road grime of some type. So rather than wax it I held off. I have never used a clay bar before, but thought that may be my next step. How do they work and is it effective at removing what is on the paint without harming the paint? Or is there something else that may work better?

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

the advice I’ve always heard is to start with the least aggressive method first. Wash it and then try a white polishing compound. See what that does.p

I have never used a clay bar but I will tell you the best Auto & boat detailing investment I ever made was a $35 Harbor Freight 7-inch buffer polisher.

It polishes, it buffs, it waxes, it sands. Talk about a labor saver. Add a good tuffer buffer polishing bonnet and it really cuts down on the work.

Grouse

TipUpFishOn

Clay bar will work well for getting that stuck material without harming the paint. The clay pulls and traps the contamination. Dampen a small portion of the car at a time so the clay can glide. Pull off a piece of the clay bar and with a little bit of pressure, glide the clay over the spot you’re working on. When the surface of the piece of clay gets dirty, roll it up until you have a clean working surface. When that piece gets too dirty to re-use, use a new chunk of the bar. Once finished, wax it up.

Mike Burke
    Oskaloosa, Iowa