Ocotopus circle hooks

• dbright
    Cambridge

I’ve been using octopus hooks for most of my fishing for a few years now. I grabbed two things of octopus circle hooks on the way to the river the other night by mistake. Two trips out I’ve lost big fish and missed a few runs. Does anyone us this type of hook are there any advantages?

I was ready to give up on stink bait in general after trying a few different brands tell this past week the channels have been on a terror. Sonny’s blood formula has been what’s working this week. Do you guys use any other brand that’s carried locally?

tsamp
    eldora, iowa

bowkers or cut shad
    #5 circle hooks-leave the pole in the holder until it doubles over. You can not set the hook or you will miss. Good thing is they are hooked in the corner of the mouth nearly every time.

nick-nutter

After years of experimenting with different hooks and different sizes, I almost exclusively use octopus circle hooks. I use 8/0-10/0 for live bait rigs for flathead, 3/0-7/0 for cut bait for channels and sturgeon. I even use them for live bait rigs while pike fishing … Tip ups and under floats. They’re very versatile, and they work for me.

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale

I have been finding if the fish aren’t exactly hitting the bait hard circle hooks just dont work to well compared to your regular octopus. If they aren’t turning with the bait no way a circle is gonna cut in. If they nibble at it need regular style to get them in the lip or elsewhere.

nick-nutter

Octopus circle are not a true circle design, they’re a hybrid of both types. The offset shank and wide gap allow you the option of setting the hook in a traditional sense (which I almost always do while running live), while still maintaining the self-setting function of a true circle while tight lining.

katmando
    Ramsey,MN pool 2, St.croix river