In the market for a new flathead rod

• mrCROWLEY138
    La Crosse, WI

I’m new to flathead fishing. I generally have only targeted channels but would like to change that this year. I’ve been looking at the stores around the Lax area but can’t find a rod that fits what I want. I would like a rod with a moderate action. I want a decent flat to put a nice bend in the rod without feeling over matched. I feel like most flathead rods are too stiff for my liking. I want some play as I generally won’t be fishing where I need to horse them out of snags. Also, I’ll be fishing mostly from shore throwing about 3oz of lead plus probably 5 to 7 inch bait. I’d like a rod around 7 feet long but could probably get comfortable with up to 8’6″ . 7’6″ would probably be ideal but I think the Catfight is the only rod I’ve seen in that length. The rods I’ve seen that I think may fit my parameters (but can’t get my hands on to physically test)are the bottom dwellers catfight, ugly stik tiger and salmon\steelhead rods, Nightsticks,TWC extremes, and maybe the glowsticks too. If anyone can give me some information on these or any other cat rods, that would be great. I’m really unsure or what action I should go for. I know every rod is different so that makes it tough but I don’t want a noodle or a pool cue. Hopefully this dream rod of mine exists…and is under $100 lol.

dfresh
    Fridley, MN

I have a 7′ Ugly Stik Tiger ML salt water and could not be happier with it. I found it locally at a fishing clearance shop in Brooklyn Center.

They have a faster tip and plenty of backbone for hauling in the big ones. There are other guys in this forum that use them as well, so maybe they’ll chime in.

nick-nutter