1st timer

• James8
    La Crosse County

I’ve never used this forum before and can’t waite to talk to someone that can help me hook my 5yr old up with a nice flathead. It seems he watched a show on cat fishing and now is literally hooked. According to some of the other postings, bullheads are a good bait. What is to big a bait, and could you use a small channel cat if we hook into one. Any and all iformation is welcome as I have little experience fishing for cats. Pool 8 is where we will be.

dirk_w.
    Minnesota

Bullheads 7 inches and under are legal in MN. 5-7 inches are great from my experience. If your from WI bluegills are good. Chubs and suckers are good also. The key is lively bait. Look in past FTR posts for a wealth of info on bait, gear, etc. Were are you from??

James8
    La Crosse County

Fishing pool 8 off of the La Crosse area. Thanks for the information. Would you say that any live bait that is much larger than 6-7 inches would be to large?

mavzer
    Hager City, WI

I don;t think you can use baite over a foot …. I don;t think them big cats care too much.,,, they will still pound it

Whiskerkev
    Madison

Gabriel,