drifting for catfish

• jeremy99
    IN

This weekend I tried to drift for catfish on the Ohio river. This is something I have never tried before. This is something that I always wanted to try though. We ended up catching 1 12lb. blue cat and that was it. I am not so sure we were doing a lot of it right though. Do any of you guys have any experence with drifting. I tried many different leaders and weights and still got hung up some. there wasn’t a dull moment in the boat the hole time. Any ideas, suggestions, or even a comment will be fine. This is something that every cat man should try.

Whiskerkev
    Madison

Jeremy,

Most drift fishing is done on resevoirs. On the river there is not too many places where you won’t get hung up. I do have a nice weed edge that has uniform depth and few snags that I drift once and a while. I use no snag sinkers like a lindy. Just a little bit heavier.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

I was wondering about applying a drift technique on Lake Pepin after catching a bunch of nice channel cats out on the lake around the flooded willows a few weeks back during the high water. When you catch 3 – 4 fat channels on a shad rap or rattle trap a guy has to figure they’re pretty well stacked out there in the lake in some areas. Might be fun to get a boat out there with some cut bait and drift some shoreline breaks just to see what one would come up with.

Interested in doing this some time Dirk? We could get Vick to “donate” his pontoon and really have a go of it!

jeremy99
    IN

I have heard of people drifting live bait on the rivers before too. This is something that I am definitly going to try soon also. I will let everyone know how I do.

Whiskerkev,
    What kind of hooks do you use when you drift. I was using circle hooks and regualr shank hooks just to try to find out which one was better.

steve-demars
    Stillwater, Minnesota