Catching Walleyes Daily

• CSmith

Alright might sound stupid, but here it is.
    When fishing a lake with an abundance of walleye in early spring for example.
    Is it really possible to catch fish every day?
    Im not new to walleye fishing but im no pro,
    is the bite just that tough some days?
    when i make a 3 hr drive an come home without boating a single fish it makes me think.
    what am i doin wrong? Im always mixing up my tatcis. Or doing what the whole flotella of boats is doin.
    People make it sound like there always catching fish wherever they go.
    Is it possible to catch spring walleyes day in an day out??

Dusty Gesinger
    Minnetrista, Minnesota

Every once in a while it could be tough, but I think it’s possible every time out. Lots of variables.

bigpike

The key here is your three hour drive. The walleye locations and feeding times in spring can vary daily, hourly even by the minute. You need to spend time on the lake to figure out there location and from there your experience should guide you. But the toughest weather conditions can throw a hot bite into lockdown

Weekender
    Southcentral MN

Catching walleye daily can be difficult at any time of year. But in early spring, I often wait until a little later in the morning, after the sun has gotten up there in the sky and has begun warming the water back up.

I also fish smaller, shallower, more dirty water lakes that warm sooner and quicker…often times these lakes are 400ac or less and bottom out at 10ft to 15ft deep. Less area to fish, less depth for fish to run to; you can kind of pin them down.