Boat market peaked??

• Matthew Sandys

I have been saving for a boat for the past 4 years—great timing with inflation. I look every day and seems to me we are seeing less demand.
    Has the boat market peaked? To me, it looks like many of the boats are sitting on dealer lots, and rebates and used boats are not flying off the market.

I’m assuming the high prices and high loan rate have slowed the boat market down a lot.

What are all your thoughts?

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

A year ago the wait for some new boats was about a year. At the beginning of 2023, I was told 6 months. So the wait time has definitely gone down.

Prices are still very high though. That might be a permanent change to be honest even if demand goes back to normal.

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

You looking new or used?

Matthew Sandys

Dutchboy:

I have been looking for a used skeeter WX1910

Youbetcha
    Anoka County

I have been stalking boats on FB market place. It does seem like things are sitting. Best time to buy is right before people start putting boats in storage for winter.

Matthew Sandys

Carter:
    I’m hoping there is a good purge before ice season and I can get into a boat for a decent price.

Youbetcha
    Anoka County

I think you have the right idea.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

The used boat market has definitely slowed way down from the pandemic crazy-time and Carter is right in that the selling pace only gets slower and the deals get better as we approach winter storage time.

But if you’re after one specific model, what I’ve learned over the years however is you still have to be willing to get on your horse and look at boats that might look “meh” in the pictures.

A lot of guys are super lazy when selling. They don’t take good pictures, they don’t pull the boat out of the garage, they don’t wash it, and they may not even fully pull the cover off if they’re real lazy. Bad pictures can hide really good deals if you’re willing to go look.

Grouse

Ripjiggen