Black Hills Trout Fishing Questions

• mnrabbit
    South Central Minnesota

Heading to Black Hills to camp and hike with my wife for a few days around the 4th. I have never fly fished or trout fished before but would like to experience catching a trout out of a mountain stream one morning out there if possible.

1) Right now, I am not interested in learning how to fly fish (some day) or buying gear for it.
    2) I’m guessing I can still catch them on some ultra-light spinning rods?
    3) How exactly do you go about fishing for them on spinning rods? Type of baits, lures, presentations that could possibly work?
    4) Any locations you guys know of? Grace Coolidge Walk-In fishing area looks to be a good possibility.

I’m a complete noob when it comes to this type of fishing, any tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

2) I’m guessing I can still catch them on some ultra-light spinning rods?
    3) How exactly do you go about fishing for them on spinning rods? Type of baits, lures, presentations that could possibly work?

Yes use a light and long rod, clear water trout are much more spooky than the stocked trout around here. Cast upstream, fish early mornings right at dawn. Small spinners will work just fine.
    spinner

boat
    SD

I grew up fishing many black hills streams. Small Mepps spinners are deadly out there.
    Try Whitewood creek near Deadwood. Not as much pressure as other areas in the hills.

tegg
    Hudson, Wi/Aitkin Co

Another thing worth having along would be some hair jigs (or plastics) you could drift along the bottom. Blacks, Browns & Dark Olives. They could represent leeches, sculpins, stone fly larvae, etc. For hair jigs I’d want something more buggy looking than simple deer tail jigs. They would be easy to carry and would give you a 2nd presentation.

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa