Best Chip for Lowrance HDS Units

• Dave Koonce
    Prairie du Chien Wi.

Is Navionics the best chip for the Lowrance HDS Units ?
    I have a older Premium North Chip… not bad..
    I have a Lakemaster chip.. it has good contours but when it comes to LOTW NW Angle it leaves out names of islands and details like that…

So whats out there ?

thanks in advance !!

John Schultz
    Inactive
    Portage, WI

Have you looked at the Lowrance Lake Insight chips? Not sure what it looks like for LOTW, but for the lakes I fish, the insight offered the best coverage. Navionics would be my second choice, but not sure the insight chips have LOTW in high def.

That being said, I still run an old Lakemaster chip too for Lake Michigan because the insight doesn’t have as good of countours. I just run both of them at the same time.

fishinfreaks
    Rogers, MN

Lowrance Insight Pro is the bomb on Lake of the Woods. Haven’t been to the NW angle, but on the Canadian end in Sabaskong and Whitefish, it’s great.

Dave Koonce
    Prairie du Chien Wi.

Thanks guys !!

biggill
    East Bethel, MN

Hey Dave, I have the insight pro from last year and might be willing to part with it. I’m thinking of upgrading to the lake insight HD. Let me know if you’re interested.

Btw, I have both the navionics and insights chip and I much prefer insights because its much more accurate than the nav. The nav is easier to read though because of the added depth shading.

Grawler

I have navionics platinum, premium north,the new plus and insight pro. The insight pro is the best.

KJK
    Cottage Grove

Will the insight pro work on a HDS Gen I unit.

Dave Koonce
    Prairie du Chien Wi.

Biggill,

I went to Cabelas and they had several chips I could look at and that Insight Pro looks nice…

Let’s talk !!

fishinfreaks
    Rogers, MN

The Insight Pro will work on Gen 1.

pass0047
    Pool4