Pool 10 8/15-8/17 report

• tennispro
    Sterling, IL

I headed up to pool 10 for my small clubs tournament over the weekend.

I got on the river around 9 am on Friday I took a different way out of Illinois and it took almost an hour longer. The first thing I did when I got to the river was check out my normal starting spot. It looked perfect, I made about 25 cast and caught 2 short fish so I pulled out. I then ran down river to check out spot #2 and was not happy when I got there. The water look really wrong for my fishing. I fished a few spot around there and called it a day aound 1:30.

First day of the tournament I drew boat #3 but I had my flatboat with a 40 hrsp so I got passed be just about every boat with in the first 2 min. I get to my spot only to find that another guy from the club had finally found the spot that I have been using to beat them for the last three years. So I got stuck fishing the worst spot in that area. Right away a boat from the big tournament ran right over the weed bed we were fishing. He also stuck his boat right after he got past the weeds After everything calmed down I missed 5 nice fish in the first hour They would blow up on my buzzbait and I would not get a good hook up and they would come off after two or three cranks of the reel. I fished this spot for longer then I should have and only was able to get on keeper. For the second day in a row I had a huge smallie 3.5-4 pounds come out of the water after my buzzbait and not get it. The fish was all the way out of the water and landed on the bait both times. I started fishing a new spot that I finally found clean water in. Right away I was getting short fish then I finally got keeper number two on a frog. I was also getting ring perch on three inch tubes. I landed three of them. With 1 hour to go and only 2 fish in the box I headed to a spot right next to our ramp. Right away I see another boat from my club in there and they are just landing a fish. I fish up the bank behind them