Any spear fisherman here?

• Dave maze
    Isanti

I just started this year. Catching them on tipups is 10x easier than spearing.

Jamin
    Hudson, WI

Grew up spearing with my grandpa in Grand Rapids. Some of my best memories sitting out there with him as a kid. Something I’ve always wanted to get back into.

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

Just wondering if there are any pike spearers on here?

Been doing it for a couple years now. Carve my own decoys and made my own spear. I live in Iowa and have to travel out of state to participate. I’ll be leaving this Friday for a few days of angling and spearing in northern MN.

Attachments:
    1. 20190107_114923.jpg

2. 20190111_155430.jpg

3. FEB_02_2019.jpg

4. 20190125_070225.jpg

5. JAN_24_2019.jpg

slowpoke
    Perham Mn

I’ve been doing it for the last 47 yrs. Nothing like sitting in the dark house watching the bottom. Just me and the dog toasty warm in the peace and quiet. Been a tough yr around here. All the lakes I spear on are seriously flooded. Sadly the house is in the yard as we speak. May put it back out after this cold snap.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

I haven’t been spearing since before dad passed away.

Sure love looking a the live decoy or playing with the wooden one and then a schnoz suddenly appears out of no where!

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I don’t remember the last time I saw a spear fisherman under the age of 60. There’s a few participants left (as one can see on here), but its literally a dying sport. In recent years, the state of Minnesota has barely eclipsed the 10,000 count dark house license sales mark.

My Father has a spear house that he has used on and off for years now but the ice conditions are so poor this year that he said it will remain in his shed. Its a complete bit** when you get a big thaw followed by a freeze to get that house out.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Where’s Glenn? I know he thinks he’s a spearer.