Trolling with Lead Core Questions

• medevac121

I am a FNG wanting to learn how to troll with Lead Core. I have done a lot of research but I still haven’t found the answer to this questions. When you talk about ‘x’ colors out are you talking in the water, from the rod tip, or from reel? Can I put all 10 colors on the reel without backing?

Brad Juaire
    Maple Grove, MN

Welcome to IDO! We’re glad you joined us!

I’ve been trolling with lead core line for over 14 years and I like you, had many questions when I first started.

Here’s a few things you should know..

– A full core of lead core line is usually 10 colors (they also make 20 color spools now)

– Each color is 30 feet long so a full core of lead core line is 300 feet

– When someone says “put out 3 colors” – what they mean from your rod tip to your leader.

– You must attach a leader to your lead core. Here’s another thread that tells you how to do that: Best Lead Core Knot to Use

– You add and calculate your depth curve for your crankbait in regard to your leader length and then add the correct amount of lead core to achieve your desired trolling depth.

– Regular Leadcore line has a thick diameter due to the lead inside of the nylon sheath so you need to have a bigger reel to accommodate the lead core. How much you will want to put on your reel depends on how deep you plan to fish.

– Regular lead core (most guys use 18 lb) sinks 5 feet per color when trolling at 2 mph. The faster you troll – the higher your lead core line will raise up in the water column and the slower you troll – your lead core line will sink. A .2 mph difference in speed can raise our lower your leadcore line approximately a foot when fishing with 3 or 4 colors. Simply put – leadcore line is speed sensitive.

– The new Sufix 832 lead core line had a thinner diameter than the regular lead core line and therefore sinks faster – 7 feet per color when trolling 2 mph. Most guys like me are using 12 lb test.