questions for the boaters

• wall3y3chaser

HI everyone Im a newbie to the site but ive always come here for tips. I was just wondering as a shore fisherman if you on a boat have seen any nice shore fishing areas that i may not have been to? in case you were wondering i do not own a boat but i have pretty good luck off shore! this year all ive really fished is the mississippi river pool 2 and i love it because of the variety of fishing avaliable , however i have fished near the marina at the culvert a couple miles down from the ford damn and ussually fish off of raspberry island in downtown saint paul with pretty good fish coming off the main channel side of the island from eyes to smallies and the occasional sheep head hitting a crankbait who would have thought!!!!! But i was just wondering if any one knew the depths of the river at these places so i can get a good idea of where these fish might be, like i said no boat, one day will get one but for now im fine from the shore its been an amazing year for me with the number of walleye ive been able to get from shore in these spots! Thanks for reading and for any insight on any of my questions are greatly appreciated! From a shore fisherman to the boater keep your poles up! Also where are the smallies hiding at i would really like to get a big one if anyone has an idea for me thanks for reading!

Mike W
    MN/Anoka/Ham lake

Getting any big walleyes off those spots? From the boat they both look like big fish spots for this time of year.

10-12′ deep in front of the culvert by water gate with rocks scattered in the area.

Very deep off the channel side of Raspberry Island. Think it drops right down to 20 and then gets deeper. The stairs on the down river side of the island have a nice bar sticking out towards the bridge. Sure looks like a nice feeding shelf to me.

wall3y3chaser