Vietnam Veterans Day

• Dan
    Southeast MN

Annual tradition of Vietnam Veterans Day.

I was on a short trip recently and chatted with an employee of a place who was a Vietnam Veteran. After seeing a card of mine that showed I was a veteran he mentioned his time serving in Vietnam and brought up how many folks treated those coming home from Vietnam. I tried my best to convey to him that what they went through led to changes in the way veterans were treated coming home, and that I was treated much better coming home from my own deployments thanks to Vietnam veterans leading the way to make sure what they went through never happened again.

Many of you have seen my posts about this in previous years, but for those who haven’t:

When I returned from my deployments in 2004 and 2007, the largest group of people greeting us at the gates of airports were Vietnam veterans. I still get chills thinking about it, and in the years since I have not been able to come up with the words to describe what it’s like to receive that welcome from a group of people who were treated far worse. It absolutely speaks of selfless service to your country and its veterans.

For the vast, vast, vast majority of combat veterans, bringing up their service and thanking them creates an awkward situation because gratitude is something they were never looking for. So my recommendation is that if you see someone wearing a Vietnam veteran hat, shirt, etc. just tell them a short “thank you for your service” and throw in a “welcome home” because they may have never heard it. If you have a friend, coworker, etc. who’s mentioned before that they have a parent, grandparent, neighbor, etc. who served in Vietnam, maybe tell them “hey, please let them know I sincerely appreciate what they did for our country.”

If I run around doing things like that for the rest of my life it’ll still never be enough, but it’s what we can all do to make sure they’re still thought of, respected, and appreciated.

BigWerm