Downrigger wire

• lookin4fish

I have 2 downriggers but both have only about 80 ft of wire on them. I want to put at lease 200 ft on. what poundage of wire should I put on? the max balls I will be running is 8 lbs since they are older cannon easy trolls. I am brand new to downriggers so any advice on releases or anything else would be helpful. I am also wondering how you run a second line on the same rigger well above the ball?
    thanks!

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

I have all your answers. There are MANY options. PM me and I can get u everything u need to know to start up. There is a lot of info, most of what I do know took time to figure out through articles and websites as well as http://www.glangler.com — I’d be happy to help, what city are u in? -Mark

1. SS wire can order from many places, marine general, cabelas and maybe Gander. Can walk in a get too. 400’spool

2. i hear the blacks release is the bomb. u can adjust rod load and trip load seperatley, i WILL be trying one this year. currently i am running pinch pads by Scotty or off shore.

3. you can use either one or 2 rods for a slider rig (2 lines off one rigger) there is a spring clip that you can attach a release on to then clip that say 10′ above the bottom line.

–for example, let out 50′ of line with the rod you are going to run on your ball release attach it and then lower the rigger ball 10 feet, hook the spring clip to the rigger cable then let back 30′ on rod 2 then hook line into the release u attached to the spring clip. then try to work both the lines down to depth, it can be difficult alone.

or the Death Wish Slider which is one rod, easier to use but it hard to explain… and then there is your SWR line too… Its like opening a can full of worms man!!!

mnfishhunt
    Brooklyn Park, MN

i have a lot of info too, where do you live this summer i would be happy to take you out and show you what i know

lookin4fish