Rod build?

• Red Eye

Few questions for any rod builders and jigging rod experts. I have been building both summer and winter rods for several years. Mostly for myself, friends, family and coworkers. Im in the process of building myself a new rod for pitching light jigs. Mostly be used in the spring with spottail minnows. I’m thinking a 6’8” medium/light fast action would work pretty well for this.

One question is do you guys perfer a split grip or regular full cork handle?

Where should a rod like this balance out with the reel on?

And last do you ever add weight in the butt of the blank to get the rod to balance better? What do you use as weight?

I appreciate any help you can give. Thanks

Tuma
    Inactive
    Farmington, MN

I would not call myself a rod expert but that sounds like a good length. For myself I would even go to 7’ if you will normally be in a boat. I hate the way split grips feel but some like them. The balance should be right in front of the reel so the tip goes up to 10.

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale

All depends how you like the rod and that feel for presentation.

No disrespect at all but seems odd a rodbuilder of several years would ask such questions. grin

I’m with tuma, longer might be a bit better just for distance. But understandable some guys like shorter rods. I’d go at least 610. Ml or even certain light blanks would be fine imo.

Pitching rods I like my rod with reel when in hand to be at that 10oclock or so. That’s where I hold it the majority of the time so I want the least amount of fatigue holding it there. I will sacrifice overall weight, to get that balance right. My opinion most tennis elbow and arm soreness comes from stress on the forearm from wrist stress rather than a few ounces on the rod reel setup. Some guys hold the reel with 2 fingers on top, others one, some all beneath the reel arm so it’s all relative to the user.

I’m done with my rod builder armchair advice now, good luck! toast

Red Eye