RUBBER NETS

• airpart

I just bought a new rubber net at Bass Pro and tried it out this weekend. I have to say that it was almost comical. I’ve never used one of these before andneedless to say it was an experience. One of the small eyes that we caught used it like a trampoline and fortunately bounced into the boat. It seems that if you have a fish with some weight (like a big sheepie) it works fine, but for anything smaller and long it is really an event. I really like the net for not getting the fish and the crankbait all tangled up and the hooks don’t get embeded, but the trampoline effect was quite a suprise. Anyone else have any problems with these types of nets, or comments?

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

I think Holst coined the term “Tennis Racket”

-J.

john23
    St. Paul, MN

Same experience. They’re ok in that it’s easy to get fish and hooks out of them, but a high quality coated mesh bag is worth the addt’l investment.

fishman1
    Dubuque, Iowa

If you think the rubber net is stiff now just wait until you use it in the middle of the winter. I used to have one several years ago but I sold it at a garage sale. I went back to the net type. I promised myself I wouldn’t complain about getting my crankbaits fowled up in my net. I have not been able to keep that promise.

Eyehunter

690reece
    Hutchinson,Minnesota

I run a Beckman with a coated net and I have had GREAT success with it! I mainly pull cranks and I have not had a crank get fouled badly yet. I have had BIG and little fish in it with no problems. I have seen alot of people struggle or lose fish because of there rubber nets! Good Luck!!! 690reece

luke_haugland
    Iowa City, Iowa

I love my rubber net for eater size walleyes..panfish..etc. Of course it is about fifteen years old, and it is twice its original size.. so it works perfectly…

phishirman
    Madison, WI