Charlie brewer crappie lures

• iceman35
    upstate New York

I’m a crappie rookie but plan on a crappie trip or 2 this coming year. I was wondering the opinion of some of the charlie brewer crappie lures. That little road runner deal looks nice. Thanks for the comments, will be back at times with more questions. FYI my target crappie water will be Lake Champlain.

sliderfishn
    Blaine, MN

As my username suggests, I use the Charlie Brewer grubs ALOT.
    My favorite crappie lure is a 1.5 inch white with a chartreuse tail. A close second is the 1.5 inch plan pearl.

I fish these on a variety of jig heads but really like rigging them on weedless crappie slider head, either 1/16 or 1/8. The jigs are lighter than advertised.
    The main reason I like these heads so much is not because they are weedless, a definite plus, but I really like the wobble that the lure has when slowly reeled through the water as well as on a pause slow drop.

I have not tried the lures that you are looking at, sorry,but I have rigged the 1.5 inch sliders on a Blakemore road runner jig head with great results. At times the additional flash is needed to draw attention to your presentation.

Any other questions? Feel free to shoot me a PM

Ron

mfyten

I have had great success with the Charlie Bee’s for nice crappie and bull gills. My best colors have been black/chart tail and Junebug/chart tail.

iceman35
    upstate New York

Thanks for the input. gonna order some stuff soon and will be back later sometime to load up a box with the basics.

artifishal

I wouldn’t over look the Crappie Tom line of jigs and plastics. They are absolutely deadly on the slab crappies! I love working them with twister tails, minnow style plastics, and also tubes

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive