Need to respool my walleye rods

• bigcrappie
    Blaine

I have Fire line on now think 8lb on all my 7′ rods I use for trolling and lindy rigging. I already took off the line and repolled it backwards as to use the unused line. But this line has to be 10 years old now, I have never had any problems but do not want to when I have a lifetime fish on. I see now they have 832, Fire line, power pro, Stealth spider wire and Berkley X5 and X9. I know this is a Sufix web site because of sponsorship. Do I stay with what I have or what is the reason to try something different?

biggill
    East Bethel, MN

Not a fan of 832. Very noisy and just never had a lot of confidence in while I was using it. Hard to explain

I’m a fan of power pro myself. I use this on my trolling rods and I use power pro super slick on my spinning rods. Great abrasion resistance and fantastic life. The super slick is excellent for spinning rods because it is super smooth and very castable.

Dave maze
    Isanti

I have had no issues with 832. I haven’t used any other braid in 10 yrs.

grubson
    Harris, Somewhere in VNP

I have had no issues with 832. I haven’t used any other braid in 10 yrs.

X2

Walleyestudent Andy Cox
    Garrison MN-Mille Lacs

I already took off the line and repolled it backwards as to use the unused line. But this line has to be 10 years old now, I have never had any problems but do not want to when I have a lifetime fish on.

I would just replace, being 10 years old it owes you nothing and re-spooling with all new line will work out to cost you…what? per year for the next 10 years?

FWIW, I spooled with Northland walleye braid, maybe not one of the “popular” brands but cost less and works fine for me.

Charlie W
    TRF / Pool 3 / Grand Rapids, MN / SJU