Need a TV – Suggestions?

• buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

I need a TV for the basement in the new build. I’m far from a Television expert. We don’t watch a ton of TV but do host for sporting events as well as watch film after HS games.

The room it’s for is about 32’ x 19’ with a large sectional and chairs on one side and a bar on the back end. There’s a window about 9’ in width and a sliding door on the exterior wall that both let in a lot of light. We’d like the TV to be visible throughout most of the room when games are on (obviously not in great detail from the far opposite side). I’d love to keep it under $1500 for something that is a reliable “Smart TV” and has a nice picture. Latest and greatest doesn’t really matter. Any suggestions? I laid out cardboard pieces and think that 70 or 75” seems about right. All the online formulas for size seem to suggest way larger. Brand reviews are all over the place with LG, Samsung, and Sony getting the most backing (and higher costs).

Thanks for any help you can give.

MX1825

If you have a bright room you will want an OLED TV. They have the brightest picture.

tindall
    Minneapolis MN

I think you can google how far your sitting area is to the TV and they calculate the “ideal” size. Too small and it looks small, too big and you have to shift your field of vision to see the whole screen.

From my experience don’t overthink it and over pay. Get a Costco TV the size you need and maybe get the extended warranty.

3rdtryguy
    Central Mn

I’m a fan of Roku for streaming, Apple TV not so much.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

We have 2 65 inch LG tvs I bought on black Friday. Both do exactly what we need them to do. Both are smart tvs and are fast loading. Had a TCL for a little while and the sound sucked.

Reef W