Let’s talk calls and rattles.

• Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Not so much brands, more of timing. When are you grunting or using your rattlers. What situations for both, and both grunts, wheeze, bleats and rattles. I’m fairly new to the hunting world I am self taught by reading up on it, then transfered to time in the woods. Last year we had a great season with 2 big bucks taken for my house hold. But both I believe were luck lol. I am now interested in sitting for big antlers now that the kid and lady want to meat hunt. I always just blasted my 3 doe and made sure we had meat. Please just explain the 3 or 4 calling techniques and when or what situations your using. Is it to call deer you can’t see, or get something back that just ran past or get some to come in that are to far out. I hunt a 70 acre chunk of woods and swamp / river bottom and none of my lanes I can see past 150 yards tops so seeing deer 500 yards away is never a thing.

CaptainMusky

I have never had success with calls, but I had a negative experience but it benefitted my son last weekend. We sat down and about 10 minutes later I blew the fawn bleat. 10 minutes later I saw a doe across the ravine from my youngest and I blew the bleat again hoping it would come our way to give him a chance. It did the opposite, pissed her off and she went running right toward my middle boy who shot it. I have tried grunt calls, bleats doe and fawn and this was the only interaction I have ever seen. I have blown a grunt call when I hear a buck grunt and nothing.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I have never had success with calls