Insulating attached garage

• slabz

Well ice season ended sooner than expected so the next project on the honey do list is insulating our attached garage. I ended up finding some insulation on marketplace (factory seconds) and picked it up. It was all supposed to be faced but quite a bit of it ended up having no paper. I hung it this weekend and now I am wondering if I should just poly (vapor barrier) everything since a good portion has no face or rips/tears. What do you guys think? I am no expert here but I’m thinking that is going to be the best route. I plan on covering the walls with OSB and the ceiling in steel. Thanks for any advice!

Slabz

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

No reason to use poly if you are covering with steel and OSB soon.
    I am not a fan of sealing moisture and potential moisture in walls, the better it can breathe will help in the long run. Unless you are worried about wind penetration, I’d save my time and money.

Hodag Hunter
    Northern Wisconsin

Consider exterior house wrap.

slabz

No reason to use poly if you are covering with steel and OSB soon.
    I am not a fan of sealing moisture and potential moisture in walls, the better it can breathe will help in the long run. Unless you are worried about wind penetration, I’d save my time and money.

Mark, thanks for the reply. I should also add that I do plan on putting up a hanging heater as well. Even with the space being heated, would you still recommend not placing poly? Thanks!

JEREMY
    BP

Poly is cheap why skip it?

slabz

Would you guys poly even over the insulation that is faced or just the unfaced stuff?

DO NOT SKIP THE POLY

Coletrain27

If it’s faced it don’t need it. If it’s unfaced then poly it. It’s cheap and easy to do so why not do it right

Eelpoutguy
    Farmington, Outing

Pull the facing off the existing bats and poly

Eelpoutguy
    Farmington, Outing

Poly = vapor barrier
    House wrap = water barrier

Dont confuse the 2.