Strange experience on a pond yesterday

• jphersh22
    SE Iowa

I’ve been on a kick this year of trying new ponds that I haven’t fished before, hoping to find a hidden treasure of bull gills or slab crappies. So far I’ve been rewarded with dink gills and the occasional bass or catfish. Yesterday I fished the Brown Deer pond in Coralville at sunup and in 3 hours caught only two bass and very seldom even marked a fish. So I left deciding to try one of these ponds I’ve never tried before. This one is close to home but I’ve never actually seen it, just talked to the owner. I also knew from talking to him that there were fish in it but no one has fished it for years. When I got there I saw it wasn’t more than 1/4 acre tops. It looked more like a swimming pool than a pond. I punched 3 holes down the center and found it was 7′ deep at the deepest, but I marked fish right away. As soon as I could drop a bait I had a fish on. They were genereally decent sized “gills” but they looked different. They were colored kind of like a Pumpkinseed and their mouths were a little bigger than normal. At first I thought they were hybrid bluegills, but I started catching all sizes from dinks to about 8″. I know the owener hasn’t been putting fish in and hybrids supposedly don’t reproduce so that didn’t explain the dinks. I also caught about 4 of what I call “warmouth”. These are the little bluegill-like critters that seem to hang around shallow cover in a lot of our lakes. They’re more brightly colored than a blugill and sort of look like a tiny peacock bass. The “bluegills” I was catching looked like a cross between a regular gill and these “warmouth”. Is that possible? Has anyone else run into that before?

jesseanderson
    Bloomington, MN

I’ve caught those little suckers before to! I kinda thought they looked like a cross between a pumpkinseed and a rock bass. Hard saying not knowing though…

01bullitt
    Cedar Falls, IA