Strikemaster Lite Honda engine

• Burr

Looking for comments on the Honda Powered Strikemaster Auger. Now with a 10″ auger, it’s a consideration. I know there won’t be any experience with drilling 10″ holes yet – but how is this setup for:
    Power – only interested in the 10″ auger, ice will be thick
    Speed – auger speed
    Extreme cold weather starting
    Overall durability and dependability?

I run a Lazer Mag now, ice fish almost exclusively on Lake Winnipeg, and almost exclusively mid and late season. -5 to -20 temps common, 40″ minimum ice thickness up to the full length of a 12″ extension.

I have no experience at all with the Honda powered Strikemaster. I like the light weight spec, but want to make sure it will have the power and auger-speed to make quick work of a 10″ hole. I can end up drilling a lot of holes in a day.

Any input?

I’m wondering if I should just get another Lazer Mag or if a Strike Lite would perform as well?

Calvin Svihel
    Northwest Metro, MN

Lake Winnipeg is tough on equipment no doubt, as well as the sub zero temps common in that area. In terms of reliability and cold weather starting, the Honda engine is very strong. Cold days last winter here in the states starting was no issue in colder weather (sub zero). This motor has plenty of power/torque to turn a 10″ drill and is just a few seconds slower than a Lazer Pro 3hp. Last March on your home waters we did put a 10″ drill on the Honda power head. Adding a 12″ extension this auger becomes ideal for weight compared to others on the market. Will this auger do the job for a 10″ drill….NO DOUBT. I am sure you won’t be breaking any speed records but you will be drilling a 10″ hole effectively without having to mix gas and with the light weight 4 stroke motor. I believe you will be very happy with this drill on LW.
    The Honda head unit is perfect for any drill size from 6′-10″.

Joel Nelson
    Southeast MN