Drill a extra hole

• packingheat
    Reads Landing Mn

How many of you drill a extra hole for your flasher?
    I have been doing it for a few years now and it works great. No more have to pull the cable out when fighting a fish.

mnangler
    Wabasha, MN

I will from now on as I had one wrap around my transducer cable and cut it this afternoon! Live and learn!!

shaley
    Milford IA

I don’t ducer in my jigging hole no issues and rare I ever pull it…

wallster
    Austin, MN

I use a 10″ auger and drill another half hole making it about 16″ wide. Workes great for those bigger fish that shake like mad when they get to the bottom of the ice. On the down side, they get off in the hole, bang right back down they go. Leaves lots of room for my transducer, and most times I dont have to take it out.
    Wallster ><((((>

cpetey
    Onalaska, Wi

Quote:

I use a 10″ auger and drill another half hole making it about 16″ wide. Workes great for those bigger fish that shake like mad when they get to the bottom of the ice. On the down side, they get off in the hole, bang right back down they go. Leaves lots of room for my transducer, and most times I dont have to take it out.
    Wallster ><((((>

Let me know what lakes you frequent. 16 inches and I could lose my 3 year old.

wallster
    Austin, MN

Mille Lacs
    Wallster ><((((>

BBKK
    IA

Quote:

Quote:

Wallster ><((((>

Let me know what lakes you frequent. 16 inches and I could lose my 3 year old.

No kidding! That is irresponsible IMO, unless the holes are clearly marked. I see no need for a 10″ hole period (aside from laker fishing maybe), but to make it 16″? Someone is going to break a leg or lose a child/dog.

sgt._rock
    Rochester, MN

Wait until we finish the magazine size rant before we start the ice hole size rant. Being on ice is always dangerous.

Smallowl33

If i am on a hot hole and plan on staying a while then I will otherwise I just try and move it out of the way

E Ashwell
    Apple Valley, MN