Hooks for Smallmouth Fishing with Suckers

• boone
    Woodbury, MN

I’m a novice when it comes to smallmouth fishing with sucker minnows in the fall. I’ve done it a few times and had some success using Gamakatsu finesse wide gap hooks in the 2/0-3/0 size and also some Gamakatsu circle hooks or octopus hooks. I’m just wondering what other anglers are using. Also, what are you doing when the smallie picks up the sucker? Do you give the fish a few seconds to run or do you set the hook right away?

Also wondering if the mood of fish makes a difference on hooks or hook sets. If they pick up the minnow and move slowly, do you give them more time before setting the hook vs. a more aggressive bite where they grab the minnow and run fast or just hammer the minnow? I want to maximize hook-ups but more importantly never want to deep hook them.

One more question….how does using like an original floating Rapala or husky jerk on a long leader behind a worm weight work this time of year? Basically just replace the sucker minnow with a stick bait. It seems like a stick bait would prevent gut hooking.

Mike W
    MN/Anoka/Ham lake

We have been using these and Octopus hooks of the same size. Not really sure what the difference is between the two.

As far as when to set the hook I think the mood of the fish has a lot to do with it. Most of the time we give just a second or two pause. Nice thing is if you pull the sucker out of the fishes mouth just stop and that fish will not let it get away a second time. I’m fishing the river up north so the majority of the time we get to see the bass hit the minnows and then just figure it out from there.

Bring a long curved hemostat with for the deep hooked fish. It works amazingly well going in through the gills grabbing the shank and twisting the hook to pop it out.

Went through three dozen sucker minnows today on the river.

Attachments:
    1. IMG_20230923_185603.jpg

2. IMG_20230923_201225.jpg

biggill
    East Bethel, MN