Lake master chips

• Art

Maybe a dumb question but can I leave chip in unit or do I have to take it out when not in use? Hope I can leave it in cause I am A pro at losing stuff. Just got chip today and pretty amazed. Put it to use tomorrow.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

Maybe a dumb question but can I leave chip in unit or do I have to take it out when not in use? Hope I can leave it in cause I am A pro at losing stuff. Just got chip today and pretty amazed. Put it to use tomorrow.

I’ve left chips in units for months at a time. Think of it this way, how often do you pull a SD card out of your camera? Mine never comes out. I download via USB and delete photos from that card without ever removing it meaning an SD card might never come out of my camera the whole time I own it.

One things for certain… there’s no chance you’ll damage the card or unit by leaving it in place.

Which GPS map card did you get?

BassMasterFunk
    White Bear Lake, MN

Mine has been in my humminbird since last May. No problems thru hot, cold, humid, rainy weather. Its probably the best storage spot for me because I also like to lose things.

Art

Thanks. Got the Mn. edition. Have a 788 and set it up on an old Vex box and works fine after I figured it out. Going to try it out on Lake Winona tomorrow. Really fired up for open water now. Most of my fishing is done on river in Winona area(20 miles). Thanks again and thanks to Wade. Always had super service from Jolly Ann.

jslsfish4u
    Cold Spring,MN

Can you use a Lakemaster chip in a Garmin brand?

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

Guys

I received this in an email today from Lakemaster after one of their reps read this thread. I would take it as some insightful advice from the guys that deal with these GPS cards every day.