In the IDO Mail Box Today

• In-Depth Webstaff
    Keymaster

was this email and photos.

Hi i am Dan Olmanson, i am from Waseca Mn, i am a bemidji state university student. I thought this was pretty cool so I figured I would share it with you. I caught this gentle giant on April 5th 2010 on the rainy river. This lake sturgeon was 67″ long with a 36″ girth its estimated weight is around 125 pounds. it was a Catch and Release. It took three of use to land this fish, all we had was a walleye net. The two guys that where with me are also bemidji state university students they are John Holmgren from Roseau, Mn, and Brett Wittman from Warroad, Mn.

Thank you, Dan Olmanson

Now that is a big fish!

Thank YOU Dan and crew!

DaveB
    Inver Grove Heights MN

OH EM GEE

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

Holy hell! I’ve personally seen a 67″ x 30″, but this one is a freak of nature!

stuart
    Mn.

What a tanker.

larry_haugh
    MN

That is a year maker…. Nice fish.

jonny p
    Waskish, MN

I have seen hundreds of Sturgeon come out of the Rainy and that thing is freaking huge!

Great job!

Prestige
    Elgin, MN

Holy crap

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

There’s been a number of state record breakers over the last two or so years. The 85″ that a couple of girls caught is the first one that comes to mind and Jack Nalor’s (estimated) 97 pounder from last year.

The first year of the Sturgeon Excursion (5 years ago) we were all shooting for a 50+ inch fish. The DNR first started reporting fish over 100 pounds showing up in their nets that year.

Since that first year the bar seems to have grown. Now 60+ inches is the number as 50’s are very common.

For those of you that haven’t tangled with a sturgeon before, 50 inches is an adrenaline rush, 60 inches will be the most fun you’ve ever had standing up!

Since the “season” opens this coming Saturday, there are a number of us that feel the MN record of 90 pounds will fall this year.