’96 Chevy Tahoe won’t start

• loobykc

My ’96 Tahoe will not start when it is cold. It will crank, but not start. Some times if I return the key to the off position, then try starting, it will start. In any event, if I give it a shot of starter fluid, it will then fire, even in the coldest weather. It is like the engine is not getting the right combustion signals for a cold start. Any thoughts? Took it to Chevy dealer, who found nothing and told me I must have a bad tank of gas. I also took it to an independent shop that could not find anything wrong, either. Of course, this is maddening. p.s. This vehicle has had a history of electrical problems, including the daytime running lights and the rear brake lights shorting out on different occasions.

Jesse Krook
    Y.M.H.

M.A.F. Mass Air Flow sensor maybe bad (I’m no mechanic but had a similar problem)

Jeff Bennett
    Lake Puckaway Wi.

Ihad a 97 suburban and it would start one time and not the next time . Found out the electric fuel pump was going bad and was working some times ans some times not . The garage that worked on it called up and said it starts all the time but when I went to pick itup the next day and it would not start. With the key on you could not hear the fuel pump turn on and thats how we found out why it would not start again.

bryon583
    lonsdale mn

I have a 96 tahoe and my mass air flow sensor was DIRTY,I cleaned that and it was all good! Be very careful when cleaning it,very expesive part!!!!!!!Buy some mass air flow cleaner and take a Q tip and clean it let it dry and put her back in!When was the last time you changed your fuel filter?You could try that also.

jetdriver
    Hudson WI

If it is a MAF, you should be getting a service engine code. Maybe go to the local parts store and use there scanner. You may be able to check the memory for code history.