Embarrassing Pool 4 Report

• tbrooks11

Fished the Red Wing dam area for a few hours this afternoon with nothing to show for it. Fished from 11-430 without a bite. Dont get me wrong, neither of us had any idea what we were doing out there, but we figured we could get something to bite! We used small jigs tipped with either a minnow or moxi and couldnt seem to find any active fish. We fished anywhere from 3 to about 31 feet and couldnt find much. Depth finder barely worked and we dont have a trolling motor so that certainly didnt help our chances. Didnt seem like many others were catching anything around us either. We saw 1 20 or so inch eye and a decent looking pike get pulled out of the water, and maybe a few tiny eyes/saugers but nothing much outside of those few fish. I studied James’ video and tried to do everything he did, but must not have done a very good job. Oh well, worth a shot and it was nice to get out on the water again!

Goodluck to everyone competing in the Tourney tomorrow. A few tips afterwards wouldnt hurt

CPRbigeyes
    Iowa

Get away from the dam! We found active fish up and down the river on Monday and Tuesday and we didn’t have to fish with many other boats!

tbrooks11

Yeah thats what someone else said at Everts after we were done.. bummer! wish i could get back over there!

tom_gursky
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula(Iron Mountain)

Thanks for the honest report and good effort! The learning curve will come…and so will the fish.

mar-80
    Chippewa Falls, WI

Don’t be emabarassed. I am new to pool 4 also. I have been there 4 times now and learning more everytime out, that doesn’t mean I catch more fish though. I was out yesterday and today for a total of 21 hours in the boat. we did alright, but still have a lot to learn. Good advice to stay a way from the dam. It’s good fishing but there is good fishing in other areas to. Try new spots and try not to get in a pattern of only fishing one area. Good luck.

tbrooks11