Heart ablation…anyone?

• TJ
    Hammond, WI

Has anyone out there had to have ablation therapy to fix an irregular heartbeat? Going to have this done in the near future and am curious what it is like? Something about scarring my heart with laser just makes me feel uneasy.

Buzz
    Minneapolis MN

Dad had it done with no ill effects, went home same day. The sensors in his heart are more in sync now. Sort of like getting a new distributor cap and timing belt LOL

shorefishermen
    Olmsted Co, MN

I am a nurse on a cardiac and floor and take care of several pts with irregular heart rhythms, usually a-fib. The ablation is usually saved as the last intervention after heart rate control meds have failed as well as anti-arrhythmics. Or if the a-fib is severely symptomatic no matter what the heart rate is. There are different types of ablations as far as what area(s) the heart that are needed to be ablated. Usually an area of the atria (the top chambers of your heart) or an area within the pulmonary veins are the culprit in producing the irregular heart beat and need to be ablated. If you already have a pacemaker, they could do a A-V node ablation, but that’s a whole different story. The procedure involves inserting a catheter(s) through the femoral vein and artery located in the groin. You are given some sedation and pain meds during the procedure but you are awake enough that you can still answer questions during the procedure. The procedure itself generally has minor discomfort, usually being a pressure sensation in the groin where the catheters are inserted. The length of the procedure depends on heart rhythm. If its a-fib, I’ve seen tests go up to 5 hrs, but they are usually around 2-3 hrs on average. If its a-flutter, it’s usually a quick 1-2 hrs procedure. (Remember these are the usual times I see, but every pts procedure is unique). After the procedure the worst thing is having to endure bed rest for up to 4-5 hrs depending on the size of catheters they had to us