Handheld GPS

• spd800
    NW Metro

Ok here is my dilemma. My H20 took a dump so I’m looking at replacing it. So far the two I’m trying to decide between are the Delorme 60(because it will accept my Navionics chip) or going with the Garmin Etrex 20 with their lake chip. I have no experience with the Garmin chip so if anyone has input on either of these two I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,

Steve

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

Isnt it a shame to feel like its a downgrade when our H2O’s finally wear out? I’m not looking forward to mine with LM chips failing.

super_do
    St Michael, MN

I find it amazing as popular as the H2O’s are-were, why they ever quit making them. Or at least something very similar?

chomps
    Sioux City IA

I couldn’t get rid of my H2O fast enough, glad I did. I have had nothing but a good experiences with my Garmin GPS Map76, the satellite lock is faster, seems to be just a bit more accurate, and won’t chew through batteries. One set of lithiums will last about 1/2 a year. Although you can no longer purchase new Lakemaster chips, you might be lucky and find a used one. The Navionics chip is available, and works fine, but not as much detail on some of the lakes.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

They ALL lock in faster on the gridded road network called Iowa…..

How far to next road? 1 mile. Next road. 1 mile. etc..

spd800
    NW Metro

The more I research I’m now considering the Garmin 78 with the Inland Lake map. Any thoughts on this one?

Quote:

I couldn’t get rid of my H2O fast enough, glad I did. I have had nothing but a good experiences with my Garmin GPS Map76, the satellite lock is faster, seems to be just a bit more accurate, and won’t chew through batteries. One set of lithiums will last about 1/2 a year. Although you can no longer purchase new Lakemaster chips, you might be lucky and find a used one. The Navionics chip is available, and works fine, but not as much detail on some of the lakes.

chomps
    Sioux City IA