Anti- Virus Protection

• brucea
    Maplewood,MN

I bought a new computer. Which anti-virus protection should I install?

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

If Xfinity is your provider, I’d just use their security suite. If not, I can’t help you.

brucea
    Maplewood,MN

Century Link is my provider

stuwest
    Elmwood, WI

I’ve been using AVG for about 4 years now successfully. I was not happy with Norton and mcafee previously. of course, given stuxnet and flame, maybe kasperky’s the way to go!!

brucea
    Maplewood,MN

Stu,Is it the free version or the pay for version?

stuwest
    Elmwood, WI

I’ve been using the free version. i probably get my files 24 hours later than the pay version, but it’s not been an issue so far. BUT, i am religious about not opening unsolicited attachments…

lisak
    Red Wing, MN

i have used the free version of avg for the last few years too and have been really happy with it.

dfresh
    Fridley, MN

The Microsoft Security Essentials one is free and generally agreed upon to be very good. I used to run AVG, and some things slipped through.

Whatever you do, do not run multiple virus protection programs at the same time as they can conflict with each other.

mfreeman451

Microsoft offers very good protection for free. I protect all of my computers with this, combined with Google Chrome for web browsing, you should be protected from most threats.

Microsoft Security Essentials

I would also recommend not using Adobe Acroread or Acrobat for reading PDFs, you can find a free alternative like SumatraPDF. Most viruses these days are going after Adobe Flash and Adobe PDF reading products.

Sumatra PDF Reader

trumar
    Rochester, Mn

Microsoft x3

tomr
    cottage grove, mn

Microsoft x 4!

mfreeman451