Trolling Plates???

• jebb-hatch
    Kearney, Nebraska

Looking for some advice. I can’t afford a kicker motor right now, so I was thinking about a trolling plate. I have no experience with them and was wondering if they are worth it or not. Does anyone have any advice? Do they work? If so what styles to you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

The plate slow you down but you also loose a lot of control. I’d go with trolling bags or one large drift sock off the bow instead.

Here’s a link to an older video that shows how the trolling bags work. They’ll slow you down AND allow for very good boat control.

http://www.idofishing.com/videos/viewvid.php/Number/715666

onestout
    Hudson, WI

Jeff Jerry put one on his boat last year, hopefully he will chime in on how well it works. I know you do lose some control but if you have a bow mount use that to steer, especially if you have an I-pilot or co-pilot. I do a lot of trolling, I keep my kicker pointed straight and use the trolling motor to steer, it’s nice being able to control the direction from anywhere in the boat especially when fishing alone.

diesel
    Menomonee Falls, WI

I use a trolling plate on my older 2 stroke 40hp Yammie. I does the job but what I do notice is when in chop you really loose the ability to dial in the speed you want. Throw in wind, same thing. I would prefer to have a kicker but that will be on the next rig.

Boat control has not been a problem for me on calm days. and I drag lines for salmon on lake Michigan and in land lakes for walleye and northerns along the weed edges. Windy and choppy days you will notice less control.

Steve Plantz
    SE MN