Kitchen Knife Set

• cougareye
    Hudson, WI

Guys:

Any recommendations on a good and affordable set of kitchen knives?

I’m no expert on the subject of what constitutes a good knife in terms of material, wear, and such.

But, I don’t want to go into Sears or Macy’s and drop a good chunk of change and ‘hope’ I’m getting something good.

Can any of you from experience, point me toward a good all-around set of kitchen knives?

Thanks in advance!!

ET

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Chicago Cutlery

Last forever…well as long as the FW and I have been married anyway.

lhprop1
    Eagan

Like many things in life, with knives you get what you pay for. You can spend $50 on a set and you can be 100% assured you just got a junk set.

Or, you can spend $30-$50/knife and get a set that actually cut stuff without requiring your entire bodyweight to get the knife to cut.

Henckels are very good knives and well worth the investment. If you like to cook, a good set of knives are absolutely necessary.

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

I love my Wusthof Classics. Not the cheapest option out there, but they make cutting and chopping enjoyable.

smithkeith
    Waterloo, Iowa

Chicago Cutlery.

johnie1610
    Eau Claire, WI

Quote:

Chicago Cutlery

x2

bret_clark
    Sparta, WI

My vote goes to Chicago Cutlery. Our set is 26 years old and still easy to keep razor sharp!

311hemi
    Dayton, MN

We have JA Henckels, which is going to be similar to the Wustof line. My wife is a nut about her knives and these seems to work well for her.

biggill
    East Bethel, MN

Quote:

I love my Wusthof Classics. Not the cheapest option out there, but they make cutting and chopping enjoyable.

Same here. Definetly get what you pay for. I have the chef’s, pairing, carving and a sandwich knife. We also purchased a Sandoku knife for chopping as well.

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

I love the Santuko! Just an awesome knife.

Char’s guide
    Hampton, Ia.