salmon runnin yet?

• mccm
    Maplewood, MN

hello everyone! im new here. i am an avid bass and pike/muskie fisherman during the summer and fall months. during the spring, im out fishing for trout in the southern part of our state. and just recently, i started fishing for big cats in the lower stretches of the mississippi. i have never done any salmon fishing before(let alone fishing in the northeastern part of MN). i want to get out onto some of lake superior’s tributaries and try my luck. i would be fishing from the shores of some of the rivers flowing into superior(lester, french, sucker). what other rivers are recommended?
    when would be the best time to head up there? what should i pack as far as lure selection goes(type, size, colors). i will probably be using a med/heavy 7 1/2 foot spinning rod most of the time with 40# powerpro. would i need a fluorocarbon leader? the other part of the time i will be using a med/heavy 7 foot baitcaster with 40# powerpro as well. any really good you-hafta-try spots?
    thanks all!

poppy402
    Eagle Point Wisconsin

welcome. well to start off, not a whole lot are in the rivers yet. a few pinks up north of town here but id say the next big rain we get will get things moving better. if you want to fish in the rivers id reccommend spawn and or yarn. spoons wont really work that well in the rivers. Although casting off shore into the lake can yeild some fish with spoons. the spring run is alot bigger than the fall run; maybe you already know that.