First time out )

• gunsmith89
    eyota, mn

Hello all,

I have spent the past few months rigging my boat and adding some new things so I can give lake trout/salmon a go. I put downriggers and rod holders in for trolling and am going to be headed up on saturday morning out of Superior. Does anyone have any advice or pointers for me to get started. I am hoping to catch something but being that it is my first time I will be just learning how to use the equiptment so anything that is caught will be a bonus.

I will probably be running boards and then getting the whole downrigger process figured out. If anyone has any advice depths, information, colors it would be greatly appreciated and I would love to return the favor or possible give you some knowledge in the future.

Thank you,

Benn
    507-226-6341

bowtecmike
    Zimmerman mn

Stop in or call marine general in duluth they always help me out. I’ve only gone a couple times so I don’t have much for ya except early in the year there suspended up high plan on using boards and no down riggers for first couple months. Let me know how you do.

Dave Ansell
    Rushford, MN

Good luck Benn.

I’ve been thinking of doing the same thing but have not made the time to get the rigging done or set any dates on the schedule. Let us know how you do up there. I would love to head over the Lake Michigan again soon too.

Dave

muskeye
    Duluth, Mn

Are you fishing the Mn side or the Wi side?

M. Leslie
    Twin Cities

I second calling or swinging by Marine General when you’re up in Duluth. They are always very helpful and happy to get you started in the right direction. Also, if you haven’t already, download and read the short fishing manual put out by the Western Lake Superior Trollers Assn. (WLSTA). Several of their members have put together a nice .pdf with helpful tips, methods, areas for early spring/summer fishing in and around Duluth/Superior.