How much is really too much?

• andyboo
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

I’ve been fishing walleyes for 35+ years. Twenty years ago the average fisherman could spend $7-10,000 for a 16ft boat and a 50hp tiller and feel good about fishing any walleye tournament. Now, you need to spend $40-60,000 for a 20ft boat and a 200hp tiller. The way its going in 20 years, you’re going to need a 500hp tiller and a 30ft boat. In my opinion, this is too much. They are pricing the average fisherman out. They are the future of walleye tournaments. How much is really too much?

Wade Boardman
    Grand Rapids, MN

It’s all about priorities. If it’s important to you, then you’ll make sure you spend what it costs.

I spent way more than I wanted to on my new rig this year. But such is life. “It’s only money, you’ll make more on Monday.”

I’ve witnessed many tournaments won in $7,000-$10,000 boats.

As long as your not dealing with a very large body of water, I think you’d be just fine with a smaller boat. I’ve been through hell and back with my 1750 Crestliner. Although it’s not the boat I would like to fish out of, it’s all I can afford at this point in time and I sure won’t let it keep me out of the game.

tom_gursky
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula(Iron Mountain)

Thats the nature of the beast and why I quit fishing tournaments… Justin hit it on the head… You must choose carefully the water you can handle.

I know I would have struggled with the rough water on Green Bay at the AIM last week… and I also run a 1750 C-liner with a 115 Yammy.

jeff_huberty
    Inactive

I did it, spent over 40,000.

I started out with a young family and had to rent boats in order to go fishing.

My first purchase was a jon boat,I worked my way up from a 14′ jon boat,to a 16′ Lund, then a 18′ Alumacraft, and now a 21′ Skeeter.
    I still have three

I am constantley being asked at the boat ramps why I have a boat like that?
    It gets kind of old